Continue Shopping

How Oats Can Be Labeled Gluten Free Even When They Aren’t

How Oats Can Be Labeled Gluten Free Even When They Aren’t

Are oats gluten free? If you have gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, you always have to be wary of the products you buy. Even if they’re labeled gluten-free, that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s completely true. This may seem like misleading advertising, but it actually happens all the time. That’s because technically, they’re not lying. So how does this happen? How are products that are labeled gluten-free not actually gluten-free?

Today in the Oats Overnight blog, we’ll explain why this happens and why the answer to the question “are oats gluten-free” isn’t always yes.

Are Oats Gluten-Free?

Here’s the short answer: yes! Oats in their natural form are completely gluten-free. Many store brands of oats are gluten-free and therefore safe for people with gluten sensitivity or celiac to consume. But this isn’t the case for all brands. So when you ask, are oats gluten-free, the answer is usually.

The reason they aren’t always gluten-free is due to cross-contamination. See, oats themselves are gluten-free, but oftentimes, they’re grown near other crops such as wheat, barley, and rye, all of which aren’t gluten-free. This cross-contamination may not seem like a big deal, but it is if you have trouble processing gluten. That’s not the only way that oats can become cross-contaminated either.

Oats that are transported in the same truck as other crops that have gluten can be cross contaminated. Oats that are processed through the same machines as products that aren’t gluten-free can be cross contaminated. That’s why it’s extremely important to check your labels and make sure that your oat products come from completely gluten-free sources.

Are Overnight Oats Gluten Free

When people ask us, are oats gluten-free? Our answer is yes! That’s because Oats Overnight sources certified gluten-free oats that are free from cross-contamination. We even have routine independent third party checks to ensure our oats are guaranteed gluten-free. If you have gluten allergies, you can trust that Oats Overnight products are safe.

Choose Oats Overnight

Now you never have to ask “are oats gluten-free” ever again! Just order some delicious Oats Overnight from us and enjoy. Our oats are gluten-free, packed with protein, and we have plenty of great flavors to choose from. Best of all, they’re extremely easy to make! Make breakfast healthy, gluten-free, and easy today. Place your order for some awesome Overnight Oats!

Oats Overnight Logo
About Oats Overnight

Enjoy the benefits of eating breakfast with none of the work. Overnight oatmeal loaded with superfoods like flax, chia, maca root, and 20g+ of protein. No recipes needed. Life Is Hard, Make Breakfast Easy.